Temple Chai, Long Grove, IL

1670 Checker Road
Long Grove, IL 60047-5289
Phone: 847.537.1771
Fax: 847.537.8075

November 27, 2015   15 Kislev 5776
Home / About Us / Leadership

Our clergy, staff and Board of Trustees work in a sacred partnership to manage, administer and support opportunities for study, worship and acts of loving kindness.

Temple Chai Board of Trustees
Meet the board members and learn about the responsibilities of each committee







Rabbi Stephen A. Hart
Born and raised on Chicago's south side, Rabbi Hart attended Chicago Sinai Congregation in Hyde Park...(more)

Rabbi Ilana G. Baden
Rabbi Baden is a graduate of Libertyville High School, and has returned to her roots after serving as Associate Rabbi at Isaac M. Wise Temple in Cincinnati, Ohio for 11 years, followed by her biweekly pulpit in Battle Creek, Michigan.  She also served as the Director of Community Engagement for the Jewish Federation of Ann Arbor. 

Email: shart@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x231
Email: ibaden@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x229

Cantor Scott D. Simon
A native of the northwest suburbs, Scott Simon is honored to be serving Temple Chai as Cantor since 1999. After studying privately with esteemed Chicago Cantor Shlomo Schuster for many years...(more)

Email: ssimon@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x227

Deb Mattes, Executive Director
Deb Mattes is honored to be serving Temple Chai as Executive Director. Deb was raised in Buffalo Grove and graduated from Stevenson High School. She graduated from the . . . (more)

Email: dmattes@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x245

Laura Siegel-Perpinyal, Director of Congregational Learning
Laura Siegel Perpinyal grew up on the Northshore of Chicago. Together with her family, Laura was very active in her Jewish community, attending ...(more)

Email: lperpinyal@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x 228

Deborah Greenswag, Asst. Executive Director
Deborah was born and raised in the northern suburbs of Chicago. She attended the University of Iowa and received a BA in Journalism. After graduation...(more)

Charla Silver, B'nei Mitzvah Coordinator
Charla Silver has been involved in Jewish education for thirty years. She has taught...(more)
Email: dgreenswag@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x222
Email: csilver@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x241



Cathy Schwartz, Director of Member Services
Cathy is excited to be our Director of Member Services. She grew up on the south side of Chicago, attending Bowen High School before moving to...(more)

Email: cschwartz@templechai.org
Phone: 847-537-1771 x230

Board Members log-in here

Send mail to the Webmaster with
questions or comments about this web site.
Union for Reform Judaism  

Member of the
Union for
Reform Judaism